Documents you upload aren't public until you publish them.
If you are concerned about the secrecy of documents you have uploaded to DocumentCloud and annotations you have made to them, you should keep a couple of things in mind:
DocumentCloud is beta software.
All documents uploaded to DocumentCloud are passed through OpenCalais via their API. Take a look at their terms of service if you haven't already.
This is the internet. Your documents are only ever as private as your password, documents shared internally are only as private as the least responsible user in your newsroom. There are countless ways to compromise your account, those include logging in from a publicly accessible workstation and failing to log out and accessing DocumentCloud over a public wireless connection.
All of that said, we're doing our best to ensure that private material is and remains private.
DocumentCloud's Privacy Settings
When you upload a document, you can decide whether or not you're ready to make it public. By default, no one but you will be able to see documents you've uploaded to DocumentCloud. When you're ready to share your documents, you can select them and use the "Edit Access Level" options in the "Edit" menu to make them public.
Use the "Private to my newsroom" option to give your colleagues access without making the document public. You can also share individual projects with other DocumentCloud users, whether or not they're in your newsroom, using our collaboration tools.
Who Can Read Notes?
Your "private" notes will always be private. Public notes, on the other hand, are as public as the document. If access to the document is limited to your newsroom, your "public" notes will be able to be read and edited by anyone in your newsroom. When you make a document public, your public notes become visible to other DocumentCloud users along with it.
Still have questions about privacy and permissions? Don't hesitate to contact us.